Solitude … Necessary or Not?

autumn calm creepy dried leaves
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Without meaning to harp on about it too much, whilst cycling for the best part of a month in France, I had only myself for company.

I talked to myself, sang to myself, told myself funny little stories (and laughed at them – yes I am suitably strange) and cried to myself. I regularly bored myself stupid and craved company. The only people, until almost the end of the trip, that I encountered were of course French, and despite a fairly healthy ‘O Level’ result in the subject over 30 years ago, conversation was understandably a little limited. Of course, over time it improved considerably and particularly when I became less self conscious and more confident.

On one occasion, when lost again, I asked a family for help in the navigation department in my very best french.

“Ooh!” they grinned, realising immediately that I was a foreigner, “Are you English?”

“Oh thank God!” says I with great enthusiasm, “You’re the first Brits I’ve spoken to in fourteen days!” I wanted to hug them, kiss them, sit them down with a cup of tea and listen to their life story.

“Nah! We’re not English, we’re from Birmingham,” came the strong accent in response.

Right… Frankly I couldn’t care where they came from, as long as they could understand me and I could listen and understand them. It was a short lived conversation … I think my overly enthused neediness was perhaps a bit off-putting. Similar to when I try to chatter to the postman when he comes to the door, his eyes start to glaze over as he backs down the path. Perhaps I truly am just a needy individual.

However in the last few days I met someone who had been doing almost a parallel trip to me. A South African by birth, he said what he thought, without any filter, and with gusto. He called a spade a spade and swore like a trooper. A rather high powered physicist with a photographic memory, I did question the swearing, but he merely threw his head back, laughed like a drain and replied, “Frankly Katie, I don’t give a fuck!” I liked him enormously. But he too had been devoid of all conversation and despite being fluent in five languages, French was not one of them, so had even less of an opportunity for chatter. It hadn’t however stopped him from having an absolute ball. We then talked incessantly for three days and marvelled at the delights of having company, giggled over the best way to get in, out, and dressed in 6ft x 2ft x 2ft tent, and spoke endlessly about our ridiculous adventures. Laughter is truly good for the soul.

I am now back in the real world and find myself a slightly different creature. Having craved company, whilst I enjoy it, I enjoy it in moderation. No, that word that has never been a part of my life before and I welcome it and wonder if perhaps it might overflow into other areas of my life. There is always hope. I find that I now need a certain amount of solitude in which to block out the noise, the people, the endless nonsense which I find invades my mind and colours my mood. I can now control my own mood completely by myself which is new to me and very much welcomed, but external influences still can alter it. So partly for self preservation and partly because I simply enjoy it, I now ensure that I have time every day and every evening for a little solitude. Call it self care, call it indulgence, call it selfishness, as my South African friend says, “Frankly, I don’t give a f…k!”

Katie xx

What about you? Do you need solitude or do you loathe it? Do you control your own mood?

40 thoughts on “Solitude … Necessary or Not?”

  1. Absolutely! I have always loved and needed solitude (not just when it was a case of the wine wanting to have me all to itself). I think if we are comfortable in that space, with only ourselves and the silence for company with no distractions at all, we have come a long way. Perhaps it’s really accurate to put it like your friend does! Like our own Moment of No Fucks Given, we could even call it MNFG for short? Big hugs, Anna xx

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Nice post, Without solitude I would go crazy. I need alone time for myself everyday, I can’t relate to needing to be around people all day I can’t do it. When I have alone time I feel at peace & more in tune with myself. I think everyone should learn how to be alone, and have time for themselves. 💛

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This brought a smile to my face. Make sure you take all the solitude you need, it refreshes the soul. We all need time to ourselves in peace and quiet, we live such busy, noisy lives these days. It isn’t selfishness or self-indulgence, it is necessary.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes, I’m trying not to feel guilty about it and think that when I get back to London I shall have to really start planning my time better so that I fit in all the things that I want and need to do. And that includes a bit of peace and quiet! Thanks so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like an amazing much-needed journey of solitude, though! Now you know you can take it in doses and can say you’ve experienced it for a while. Also sounds like you met some great people! I like the guy who curses like a sailor 😉 I need it in moderation too. I consider myself an extroverted introvert. It’s interesting because I crave alone time but also get lonely, so the two really aren’t mutually … exclusive? Inclusive? Ya know! haha

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I love solitude. It goes hand in hand with writing, I think, which I started doing when I was about 6, hiding in cupboards to do so! 😂 I need a certain amount of company from friends and family, but go crazy without quiet time. It’s really interesting this has come to you with your trip. A more self-assured you?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I have to have peace and quiet. It is very healing. I like to chat but I enjoy my retreat to quiet. I have no time for meditation all I require is quiet and time to contemplate or relax. Bless you. You have really turned yourself around best thing you could have done. Old Betty can take a hike or sling her hook.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad that you also like your time to have peace too. It really revitalises one and gets the mind in order to deal with life which can have its ups and downs for sure. As for Betty, yes, I think I lost her somewhere in Brittany … !

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I do indeed gravitate towards solitude most of the time, even when I’m around other people, it seems. There is a difference between being alone and being lonely. I’ve felt both at different intervals. My problem is that unlike you, even if I feel lonely, I’m reluctant to admit I am and to act on it by furtively engaging with the next person I see. The issue is I simply don’t know what to say to get the conversation going. :/ I found the story about your chatterbox-ness (did I just make up a word??) coming out when you spoke to the postman to be quite adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chatterboxness! I love that! I understand about the alone vs lonely … For years I was never alone, but desperately lonely. And instead of finding some pleasure in the times when I was alone, I fought it and hated it. I think now I’m just much more comfortable in my own skin and company. It’s only taken 49 years and 1000km cycle ride!! Oh God! As for conversation starters, if you’re British, there’s always the weather. For a time I listened to Matthew Hussey who is a brilliant coach in dating etc, but more importantly he says we have to practise endlessly talking to strangers and gradually it becomes second nature. He’s brilliant and it’s very true! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a comical but meaningful post. So glad you made it home in one piece. I would struggle with the bad language but always feel slightly envious of people who really dont mind what others think…if only! Glad you found some company along the way though. Enjoy a well earned rest.🛁😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks very much for reading and commenting it really makes it worthwhile. Yes, having a rest now but looking forward to getting home and having a long, yes, very long soak in the bath! X

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Love your post! Yes, solitude is very important to me. But then occasionally I get lonely and wonder why it’s hard to find people to do things with in that moment. LOL! However, once I spend a little time around others, I remember why I didn’t invest too much into it in the first place. Yep, my own worst enemy…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But I get this! And sometimes I think you can get to know someone too well and spend too much time with them (this is my lack of moderation issue) and I start to become irritable so then historically I seek solace and then become irritable by myself!! Yup .. my own worst enemy too!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. My French friends call me ‘la petite hermite’ because I am generally quite reclusive. However, I do need people too. Just not to many of them. One at a time, two is fine or at most an intimate gathering of a few (preferably tried, tested and trusted). Too many and I get overwhelmed. This surprises people because I come across, even in large gatherings as confident and sociable. I was expected to have social graces growing up and I learned to don a mask and costume that allowed me to be the life and soul of the ball. But it took an awful toll on me. I have searched my navel long and hard for the reason and I don’t have one. All I know is that as I age, I am less and less inclined to make the effort except when absolutely necessary and that I have, therefore, to guard against too much solitude which can tip me the other way. Complicated buggers, aren’t we?!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh we are indeed! I dislike trivial chit chat at drinks parties for example. I bore of it – it all seems so superficial. My favourite is a few close friends for supper where I can really listen and find out what’s going on in their lives. I’d love to have someone like Stephen Fry to sit next to at dinner. I love people who ask questions and my nightmare is sitting next to a male middle class bore who is totally uninterested in anything apart from the sound of his own voice …. ooooh I feel better having got that off my chest! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I live out of a shared accommodation in Bangalore, India. I end up spending a lot of time on my own, talking to myself, watching the trees outside my window, reading/watching a movie, going out on a walk. I must say there are plenty of times that I am bored, but I find that solitude empowers me in the same way as unwanted company drains me. I could totally relate to this post.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess this is what is beautiful about this blogosphere – we get to meet so many different people! It’s been a pleasure knowing you through your posts as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I suffer from loneliness a lot. Unfortunately the way I try to solve this is by seeking solitude. Backwards, huh? In the past I used to enjoy my own company. I would read, write, play games. Now I just feel guilty about it for no good reason. Solitude makes me think too much. That said, solitude is still very attractive to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This makes sense to me! Historically I enjoyed solitude, but like you, it truly makes me think, think and overthink everything which is unhealthy for me as I start to get everything out of proportion instead of just getting on with life. Thanks for reading – it is appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment